You are here

WSA Structure And Administration

The Williams Syndrome Assocation is made up of people: individuals with Williams syndrome, their families, and interested medical professionals and educators.

Founded by a handful of families in San Diego, CA, the WSA is a volunteer driven 501(c)(3) non-profit organization divided into 19 regions across the US and Puerto Rico. Each region works to provide social and educational opportunities for its members. The WSA also has affiliation with similar international groups.

The WSA has supported more than 5,000 families of individuals with WS since its inception.

Formal By-laws provide a framework for the operation and management of the WSA. 

The organization is administered on four levels:


Board of Trustees 

The Williams Syndrome Association is governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees. Trustees are elected by the membership for three year terms, and may seek re-election to one additional term. The Board establishes the direction of the association and works closely with the Executive Director and regional volunteers to carry out its goals.

Current Board Officers:

Jocelyn Krebs, Portland, OR
Vice President 
Cyndra Cole, Aurora, OH
Matthew Bartow, Hood River, OR
Scott Ottenheimer, Chicago, IL

Board Members at Large:

Ryan Cordry; MD, Birmingham, AL
Clancey Hopper, Nashville, TN
Marty Levinson, M.D., Royal Oak, MI
Maegan Miller; East Greenwich, RI
Tara Momplaisir; Baltimore, MD
Melissa Murphy; Wynnewood, PA 
Laurel Rossi; Bedford Corners, NY 
Judy Van Handel; Mequon, WI
Board of Trustee Bios (click for all bios or click names for individual bios)

Professional Advisory Board:
Ursula Bellugi, Ed.D
R. Thomas Collins, II, MD
Albert Galaburda, MD
Paige Kaplan, MD
Bonnie Klein-Tasman, PhD
Beth Kozel, MD, PhD
Ronald Lacro, MD
Mark Levin, MD
Martin Levinson, MD
Daniel Levitin, PhD
Christopher McDougle, MD
Carolyn Mervis, PhD
Colleen A. Morris, MD
Barbara R. Pober, MD
Abraham Rothman, MD
Paul Wang, MD
Board meeting Minutes:

Executive Director and Compensated Staff 

The Williams Syndrome Association has a staff of eight full-time employees.  Led by the Executive Director, the staff handles all daily administration tasks, actively seeks funding sources for WSA programs, and carries out the vision of the Board of Trustees.  The Executive Director is also the primary spokesperson for the Association. Click for full bios. 

Executive Director:  Terry Monkaba
Program Administrator and Bookkeeper: Jessica Cummins 
Development Associate:  Mike McFall
Volunteer and Event Coordinator: Jennifer O'Byrne
Volunteer and Event Associate: Michele Bauer
Regional Program Coordinator: Laura Chesser
Communications Coordinator:  Laurie Fundukian
For complete contact information, please contact the WSA National Office.

    Regional Committee Chairs (and co-chairs) 

    The WSA is divided into 19 regional areas across the US. Each region is directed by one or more volunteer Regional Chairs and several area representatives who provide local information and support to families. 

    All Regional Committe Chairs and their contact information are listed in the WS Local Community section.